# **2017 GRADUATE COUNCIL**

#### **Meeting Minutes**

## May 4, 2017

The Chairperson called the meeting to order at 10:03 AM.

**Members Present**: Sue Rimmer, Norman Carver, Joseph Shapiro, Ras Michael BrownWesley Calvert, Dianah McGreehan, Sajal Lahiri, Johnathan Flowers, Julie Partridge, Tomas Velasco, Rachel Whaley, Kenneth Stikkers, Karen Jones, Jennifer Lynn Smith, Saran Donahoo, Themistoklis Haniotakis, Jonathan Howard, Mark Morris, William Babcock.

**Members Absent:** Richard McKinnies, Justin Simpson, Greg Rose, Buffy Elsworth, Sheena Hart, Trish McCubbin. Howard Motyl, Paula Roa, Richard Bradley.

Proxies: Prema Narayan for Buffy Elsworth, Derrick McDowell for Sheena Hart

**Ex-Officio Members Present:** Lizette Chevalier, Yueh-Ting Lee, Meera Komarraju, James Garvey, Susan Ford, Brad Colwell.

**Introduction of new members-** Dean Lee read out the names of the new members

**Election of Chair and Vice Chair – Chair of Graduate Council, Dr. Tomas Velasco** called for nominations for Chair of the Graduate Council. Dr. Tomas Velasco was nominated and then elected as the Chair of the Graduate Council unanimously by a show of hands. Dr. Julie Partridge was elected as Vice-Chair of the Graduate Council unanimously by a show of hands.

#### **Announcement of Committees**

Dr. Velasco briefly described the committees and what they were supposed to do.

**New Programs Committee** – in-charge of new programs; Graduate Program, Graduate Certificate, new Master's Program, new PhD program, etc., would be reviewed by the committee.

Research Committee will deal with issues related to research.

**Educational Policy Committee** will deal with any policy that is going to affect graduate education.

Program Review Committee will deal with any issue related to program review.

Dr. Velasco then mentioned that the members had to choose a committee and indicate their first, second, third and fourth choices. After that, Dr. Partridge and Dr. Velasco would contact the members regarding who would serve in which committee and who would chair which committee. Dr. Lee requested the members to send their choices to Dr. Velasco on the same day or else, send it to Dr. Lee's office.

## Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 10:08.