2015-2016 GRADUATE COUNCIL

Minutes for the first meeting of 2015-2016 May 7, 2015

The meeting was called to order at 10:33 a.m. by Dr. James Garvey.

<u>Members Present:</u> Amanda Barnard (GPSC), John Barnard (GPSC), Michael Brown, Randolph Burnside, Norman Carver, Michael Eichholz, John Flowers (GPSC), Boyd Goodson, Constantine Hatziadoniu, Sandy Kim (GPSC), Scott McEathron, Richard McKinnies, Jamie McNutt, Natalie Nash (GPSC), Cinzia Padovani, Silvia Secchi, Cynthia Sims, Tomas Velasco, Alison Watts, Kay Zivkovich

<u>Members Absent:</u> David Conrad, Wayne Glass (ex-officio), Clayton Nielson, Andrew Pardieck, Julie Partridge, Corné Prozesky, Greg Rose

Proxies: Jim MacLean for Prema Narayan

<u>Ex-Officio Members Present:</u> James Allen, Associate Provost for Academic Affairs; Randy Dunn, SIU President/Acting Chancellor; Susan Ford, Acting Provost & Vice Chancellor; James Garvey, Acting Graduate Dean; Ratna Sinha, Assistant Dean, Graduate School

1. Introduction of New Members - Acting Dean Garvey

Garvey proceeded with roll call and called for a vote to adopt the Roberts Rules of Order by show of hands. All in favor.

2. Election of Officers - Acting Dean Garvey

Garvey called for nominations. Mike Eichholz was nominated for Chair of the Graduate Council. Vote was taken. Eichholz elected as Chair of the Graduate Council unanimously by show of hands. Boyd Goodson was nominated for Vice Chair of the Graduate Council. Vote was taken. Goodson elected as Vice Chair of the Graduate Council unanimously by show of hands.

3. Schedule of Meetings for 2015-2016 Graduate Council - Professor Eichholz

Eichholz called for a vote for the 2015-2016 Graduate Council meetings to be held on the first Thursday of the month at 8:00 a.m. starting in September.

4. Committee Preference - Professor Eichholz

Eichholz requested those present to complete the preference sheets and return them to Dr. Garvey as soon as possible.

5. Adjournment

Meeting adjourned at 10:40 a.m.