2018-2019 Graduate Council

Meeting Minutes

May 3, 2018

Members Present: Wesley Calvert, Saran Donahoo, Themistoklis Haniotakis, Karen Jones, Jordan Maddox, Trish McCubbin, Derrick McDowell, Julie Partridge, Emilia Russo, Lauran Schaefer, Thomas Shaw, Jennifer Lynn Smith, Rachel Steiger, Tomás Velasco, Rachel Whaley, Junghwa Lee, Sophia Ran.

Members Absent: William Babcock, Randolph Burnside, Norman Carver, Buffy Ellsworth, Sajal Lahiri, Marc Morris, Sue Rimmer.

Proxies: none

Ex-Officio: David DiLalla and James Garvey.

The Chairperson called the meeting to order at 10:54AM

T Velasco said that the only point on the agenda was the election of a new council chair and vice chair.

J Wallace read the names of the new council members.

T Velasco asked for nominations for the council chair position.

D McDowell nominated T McCubbin, who declined.

J Lynn Smith nominated R Whaley, who declined.

T Haniotakis nominated W Calvert, who accepted the nomination.

L Schaefer nominated D McDowell, who accepted the nomination.

W Calvert said that he thought the council had done well in responding to the difficulties of the previous year. He also thought it had done a good job of representing faculty and graduate needs where they ran contrary to others. He said he intended to continue the council's work in this way.

D McDowell said that coming from the Law School, he could be objective as the council's functions did not always affect the Law School. He also noted that he led a number of other constituencies across campus, which speaks to his leadership skills. He said that he would be aware of the time concerns in meetings and that he would continue a professional and collegiate operation of the council.

The Members voted on either W Calvert or D McDowell for Council Chair—W Calvert 10 and D McDowell 6. W Calvert was elected as Chair of the Graduate Council for 2018-2019.

W Calvert entertained nominations for the vice-chair position.

T Shaw nominated D McDowell, who accepted the nomination

The Members voted for D McDowell as vice-chair of the council—14 in favor, 0 against, and 0 abstain.

W Calvert asked if there was a motion to adjourn

K Jones motioned to adjourn, and T Velasco seconded.

The Members voted on adjournment—3 in favor, 6 opposed, 5 abstain.

L Schaefer motioned for a second reading and discussion of the "Resolution Regarding Graduate Council Agenda Order," and D McDowell seconded.

T Haniotakis said he opposed the resolution because the agenda needed some flexibility and that the proposed change should not take place at every meeting. He said that if there is a particular case in which GPSC needs to speak earlier, it can request time from the chair of the Council. He said that a resolution should not indicate that a group has the right to talk before other groups.

T McCubbin disagreed and said that the council could symbolically move GPSC to be the first outside constituency group heard from.

R Whaley agreed with T McCubbin.

J Lynn Smith agreed with the motion but indicated a problem with voting on it at that moment. She said that she did get a chance to read the resolution to know all that was proposed in it.

K Jones believed that decisions about speaker placement on the agenda was with the chair. She then encouraged that the chair to listen to the resolution and consider rearranging the agenda. She disagreed that the decision should be made by a resolution that made it binding.

W Calvert said, as chair, he would be open to thinking about reorganizing the agenda, if it was proposed to him in an informal way. He added that the chair is neutral on resolutions.

J Lynn Smith asked for a second reading.

Second Reading: Resolution Regarding Graduate Council Agenda Order.

Resolution Regarding Graduate Council Agenda Order.docx

T Velasco reiterated that resolutions come from standing committees and that there would be no problem regarding GPSC time if a three hour schedule was adopted for all meetings.

L Schaefer indicated that Council meetings were the only place that GPSC had the chance to address questions to the administration.

J Lynn smith said she understood GPSC's frustration.

The Members voted on the resolution—11 in favor, 2 opposed, and 0 abstain.

R Whaley motioned to adjourn and K Jones seconded.

The Members voted to adjourn—13 in favor, 0 opposed, and 0 abstain.

Adjournment: The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 11:16AM.