Meeting of 2010-2011 Graduate Council Members

Southern Illinois University Carbondale May 6, 2010 - 9:39 AM Missouri/Kaskaskia Room, Student Center

Others Present: Tina Price, substituting for Donna Reynolds during this meeting.

Proceedings:

Meeting called to order at 9:39 a.m. by Dr. Koropchak, beginning with a roll call of the new members present: Gary Apgar, Sara Baer, Susan Ford, Eric Hellgren, Nicholas Hoffman, Jodi Huggenvik, Holly Hulburt, Scott Ishman, Kimberly Kempf-Leonard, Mark Kittleson, John A. Koropchak, Shauna MacDonald (GPSC), Matthew McCarrol, Jay Means, Eileen Meehan, Manoj Mohanty, Nancy Mundschenk, Ryan Netzley, Keith Waugh, David Wilson, Tomasz Wiltowski, and Bryan Young.

Dr. Koropchak solicited nominees for the position of Chair for 2010-2011 Graduate Council.

Nancy Mundschenk was nominated for the position of Chair and motion seconded. There being no further discussions, the nomination was unanimously approved.

Chairman Nancy Mundschenk entertained nominations for Vice Chair. Mark Kittleson was nominated for the position of Vice Chair. Mark Kittleson informed the council that he is in the same college as the Chair. After a short discussion, Scott Ishman was then nominated as Vice Chair. Mark Kittleson agreed to withdraw. The nomination of Scott Ishman was seconded and unanimously approved.

Chairman Mundschenk made a motion for the adoption of the Roberts Rules of Law. There being no further discussion the motion was seconded and unanimously approved.

Chairman Mundschenk discussed the schedule of meetings which will occur the first Thursday of the month from 8:00-10:00 am and the second in December; typically, no meeting occurs in summer and the month of January. There were discussions regarding the Graduate Council meeting with the new chancellor during the week of July 9th, which is the planned meeting date of the Faculty Senate and the new chancellor.

Committee Membership Preference form was distributed, and there was a short over view of the responsibilities of the respective committees.

The 2010-2011 Graduate Council concluded the meeting with agreement by all members to meet on July 8, 2010, at 9:00 am in the Missouri/Kaskaskia Room of the Student Center.

There being no further business to bring before the council, a motion to adjourn was made and seconded.

The meeting adjourned at 9:55 am.